DE
Thomas Vester

Dear colleagues from Oemeta, Dear customers and business partners,Oemata can look back at 100 years of company history with pride. Oemeta’s historical path is marked by two World Wars, changes in strategy and location, and both economic and oil crises. Throughout all of this Oemeta’s core has remained the same: A mid-sized family-run business, which, based on its committed and loyal employees, has developed into an innovative and internationally positioned company.

The courage and determination of the founding fathers to establish, build up and expand a company in the middle of the First World War, only to start again from scratch at the end of the Second World War, deserves the highest respect. Today, a founding family still manages Oemeta.

In order to focus on products, and also to promote international activities, the management’s decision to sell part of the business (grinding tools) in the early 1990s was future-oriented.

Nowadays, Oemeta’s presence is global. It has eight subsidiaries and/or partners, employs a workforce of 200 people, and is one of the market leaders in the metalworking fluid sector.

By concentrating on fluids for the machining of many different materials, Oemeta is able to offer its customers a constantly improved package, consisting of technologically leading products, consulting and services. The holistic view of customer needs and the resulting economic, environmentally and human compatible solutions is, and will remain, the key focus.

I thank and congratulate everybody who has contributed to this success story: the founding fathers and the following generations, as well as today’s employees, who have the honour of continuing this great company history.

Signature

Thomas Vester
Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

1916 - 1920

16.12.1916

Gustav Däbritz and Otto Schmitz establish Oemeta GmbH in Berlin focusing on the production and distribution of oils, oil substitutes and greases.

The company name Oemeta derives from the German words ‘Oel’ and ‘Metall’ (oil and metal)

1917

The production of water-soluble drilling oil and similar cooling liquids for machine tools starts in rented premises in Berlin, on Königsberger Straße, then on Chaussee Straße.

Foundation of the company Nord­deutsche Schleif­scheibenfabrik GmbH (North German Grinding Wheel Factory) in Liebsgen, Germany.

1920

Purchase of the site in Bötzow-West (about 8 km northwest of Berlin’s city limit) with the existing premises of the former Berliner Müll­verwertungs­gesellschaft (Berlin waste recycling company).

The company changes its name to OEMETA Chemische Werke GmbH.

Oemeta offers two types of product: drilling oils, and ceramic and resin­bonded grinding tools. Due to this product combination, Oemeta enables its customers to make their production processes ef cient in the fast-developing mass production industry.

In 1915, the water-miscible, emulsifiable cooling lubricant is invented in the USA. The term ”soluble oil” was then commonly used for this type of product. The label ”metalworking fluid” was initially introduced in the 1970s.

1921 - 1945

1921

The start of drilling oil production in Bötzow, and manufacturing of grinding tools in Liebsgen.

1923

The manufacturing of grinding tool in Liebsgen is closed down, liquidated and moved to Bötzow.

1924-1944

The production site in Bötzow is continuously adapted to the growing business.

1945

Due to the combat operations, the sales and administration offices in Berlin, Uhlandstraße/ at the corner of Kurfürstendamm, are completely destroyed. The production site in Bötzow is seized and dismantled by the occupying power. The company owners are left without compensation and escape to West Germany.

From today’s perspective, the products commonly used at this time are simple. They consist of mineral and natural fatty oils, with a mixture of sulfonates and soaps for emulsifying and corrosion protection.

The development of the aerospace industry and the light metals now being used places new demands on the performance of products. For the first time, lubricating additives are applied to fulfill these requirements. In order to extend the service life of water-miscible drilling oils, biocides (such as phenols) are increasingly used.

1946 - 1953

Associates (from left to right) Dr. Schmitz-Lammers, A. Däbritz, E. Winkler

1946 - 1948

A new start in the emergency quarter in Unterschlechtbach (Waiblingen County Baden Württemberg). The company rents facilities from Hahn & Kolb. The Winkler family joins the shareholder group as a third associate. An application is submitted to get a business licence from the relevant authorities for the production of cooling lubricants and grinding tools. A licence for the manufacturing of grinding tools is granted in Mannheim, and the cooling lubricant licence is granted in Hamburg. As Oemeta has no machines or facilities of its own, an agreement on the production of cooling lubricants is made with Julius Schindler GmbH, Hamburg. The company headquarters moves to Mannheim.

1949

A search for production sites in and around Hamburg begins, a suitable location is found in Uetersen, Schleswig-Holstein. The production of cooling lubricants starts in the rented facilities of Hermann Behrendt in Uetersen. At almost the same time, the grinding tool manufacturing begins in Mannheim.

1950

Foundation of the Chemische Fabrik, Uetersen, with the aim to purchase the property from Hermann Behrendt.

1952

The Uetersen site is purchased and the building of a new grinding tool production facility begins. Some of the employees, who previously worked in the production site in Bötzow, relocate to Uetersen and help with the initial manufacturing of grinding tools.

1953

The headquarters relocates from Mannheim to Uetersen, the remainder of the grinding tool operation moves to.

After World War II, both the metalworking and the chemical industry are in a reconstruction phase, with highly limited availability of raw materials. The formulas for the fluids are constantly adapted to match the state of the market. Natural raw materials, such as animal fats and their derivatives, play an important role. Even today these are widely used in cooling lubricants.

The new grinding tool factory is equipped with the most modern manufacturing technology and allows the production of grinding wheels up to 800 mm in diameter.

1954 - 1970

1954

Reconstruction of the production facilities for cooling lubricants during ongoing manufacturing; demolition of the old building from the inside.

1956

Today’s administration building is created.

1956 - Employees’ 40 year anniversary newspaper.

1958

The painter and sculptor Johannes Ufer creates a relief representing different materials for grinding tools in the entrance area of the administration building.

1960

Oemeta becomes a member of the Verband der Schmierstoffindustrie e. V. (German Lubricant Manufacturers Association).

1961

Donation of a bell to the nearby, newly built Church of the Redeemer in Uetersen.

1962

Construction of a washing hall for the cleaning and recycling of barrels with rolled edges. The first structural and technical expansion of the grinding tool production facilities.

1969 - 1970

The laboratories are extended and renovated to increase capacity.

This period is characterised by the development of numerous new metalworking fluid technologies, which are supported by the re-strengthening of the German chemical industry.

The first synthetic, mineral oil-free and half-synthetic products (“Frigidol”, ”Frigilux“), as well as products with a low mineral oil content (“Oemeta Universal”, ”Frigomet“) are introduced to the market. They are much more stable than conventional soluble oils.

The complete burning technology is successfully renewed. Bell furnaces with heat recovery and afterburning systems are now in use.

1975 - 1998

1975

Construction of a new bell furnace (9 m3) for the manufacturing of grinding tools.

© Hermes Schleifmittel

1978

Oemeta joins the UNITI Bundesverband mittelständischer Mineralölunternehmen e. V. (German association of small and medium-sized companies in the fuels, lubricants and heating fuels sector).

1985

The Schmitz-Lammers family leaves the company and sell their shares to the co-partners.

Uetersener News: ”Oemeta sells production site to Hamburg Company”, 17 December 1992

1992

At the end of 1992, the grinding tool business is sold to the Hermes Schleifmittel GmbH & Co KG. The aim is to concentrate on cooling lubricants and international expansion. The number of employees decreases from 144 to 50. At this time, the export quota for metalworking fluids is below to 20%.

1994

Formation of Oemeta China, Wuhan, Hubei.

1996

DIN EN ISO 9001 certification is awarded.

1998

Foundation Oemeta UK, Banbury, Oxfordshire. Previously established as a Sales Office on 1 July 1993. The Winkler family sell their company shares to the Vester family (descendants of the founding Däbritz family).

In the 1970s, cooling lubricants containing boric acid become established in the market. Oemeta starts the ”UNIMET” series as robust high volume product.

At the beginning of the 1980s, Oemeta develops the world’s first water-miscible cooling lubricant based on ester oils, “ESTRAMET“. This product allows the user to process aluminium alloys much more efficiently than before. High efficiency is also the benefit of the biggest metalworking fluid innovation of the 1990s: With great success, Oemeta introduces the revolutionary multifunctional oil system ”HYCUT” to the market.

The grinding wheel factory is continuously modernised with significant investment.

2000 - 2011

2000

For the first time, the export share exceeds 50%.

2001

A new logistics hall is built to store finished products and raw materials.

2003

Oemeta USA is formed in Delaware. The current headquarters is located in Salt Lake City, Utah. Oemeta Canada is formed in Ingersoll, Ontario.

2004

A new administration, logistics and production site is built in Wuhan. Oemeta Poland is established in Wroclaw. The modernisation of all laboratories commences (service, research & development and production laboratory).

2005

The first environmental management certification is awarded: DIN EN ISO 14001

2007

Oemeta is the first chemical company in Schleswig-Holstein to introduce a management system for occupational safety, and receives an award. Construction of a new tank farm. A process control system for fluid production is introduced.

2010

Oemeta Singapore is founded.

2011

The foundation of Oemeta India, Pune.

HYCUT establishes itself as “the” product for the machining of engine components. Today, HYCUT products generate more than 50 % of the Oemeta group’s complete sales. Chemical legislation becomes more and more restrictive in Europe. Oemeta further develops its range of boron-free products. In 2003, the boron-free ALUMET AL 900 is successfully introduced to the market, five years later the advanced formaldehyde-free product NOVAMET 910 follows.

2012 - 2016

2012

Modernisation of the entrance area keeps the former stylistic elements. The social spaces are also updated.

The cooling lubricant for the industry – supervised by cool experts.

2013

Oemeta CR is established in Brünn, Czech Republic

2014

Start of production in China, the first production site outside of Germany. The purchase of new tanks enables greater storage capacity.

2015

Purchase of a property in the USA for a future production site.

2016

Today, Oemeta is an internationally positioned company with almost 200 employees worldwide.

In 2012, the EU Biocides Directive becomes effective, which significantly complicates the application of biocides in water-miscible cooling lubricants, and makes it much more expensive. In response to this, Oemeta offers the first boron- and biocide-free cooling lubricant with long-term stability in 2013.

In 2015, Oemeta develops a series of machining oils based on the new synthetic gas-to-liquid technology. For 100 years, the Oemeta brand stands as the technology leader and enables its customers to work efficiently. This philosophy will continue into the future.

EN
Thomas Vester

Liebe OemetanerInnen, liebe Kunden und Partner,mit Stolz kann Oemeta auf eine 100-jährige Firmengeschichte zurückschauen. Der Weg zu dem, was Oemeta ist, wurde geprägt durch zwei Weltkriege, Strategie- und Standortwechsel, Wirtschafts- und Oelkrisen. Im Kern blieb Oemeta aber immer unverändert, ein mittelständisches, familiengeführtes Unternehmen, das mit seinen engagierten und loyalen Mitarbeitern zu einer innovativen und international aufgestellten Firma geworden ist.

Dem Mut und der Entschlossenheit der Gründerväter, ein Unternehmen mitten im Weltkrieg zu gründen, auf- und auszubauen, um am Ende des nächsten Weltkrieges mit leeren Händen wieder komplett neu zu starten, gebührt viel Respekt. Noch heute bestimmt eine Gründerfamilie die Geschicke der Oemeta.

Auch die Entscheidung der Geschäftsführung, Anfang der 90er Jahre einen Betriebsteil (Schleifwerkzeuge) zu verkaufen, um sich produktseitig zu fokussieren und gleichzeitig den Ausbau der Auslandsaktivitäten voranzubringen, war zukunftsweisend.

Heute ist Oemeta weltweit in den wichtigsten Industrieländern mit acht Tochtergesellschaften und/oder Partnern vertreten, hat weltweit knapp 200 Mitarbeiter und zählt zu den Marktführern in dem Produktsegment Metallbearbeitungsflüssigkeiten.

Durch Konzentration auf Prozessmedien zur Bearbeitung unterschiedlichster Materialien können wir unseren Kunden ein stets verbessertes Paket an technologisch führenden Produkten, Beratung und Dienstleistungen anbieten. Die ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Kundenbedürfnisse und daraus resultierende wirtschaftliche, umwelt- und humanverträgliche Lösungen ist und bleibt unser Anspruch.

Ich danke und gratuliere allen, die an dieser Erfolgsgeschichte mitgearbeitet haben, den Gründern und nachfolgenden Generationen sowie den heutigen Mitarbeitern, die die Geschichte nun weiterschreiben dürfen.

Signature

Thomas Vester
Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

1916 - 1920

16.12.1916

Gustav Däbritz und Otto Schmitz gründen in Berlin die Oemeta GmbH mit dem Ziel „der Herstellung und des Vertriebs von Oelen, Oelersatzen und Fetten“.

Entstehung des Firmennamens: Oel + Metall = Oemeta

1917

In Berlin wird in gepachteten Räumen zunächst in der Königsberger Straße, später in der Chaussee Straße die Produktion von wasserlöslichem Bohröl und ähnlichen Kühlmitteln für Werkzeugmaschinen aufgenommen.

Gründung der Firma Norddeutsche Schleifscheibenfabrik GmbH in Liebsgen, Kreis Sorau

1920

Erwerb des in Bötzow-West (rd. 8 km nordwestlich der Berliner Stadtgrenze) gelegenen Geländes mit den darauf befindlichen Gebäuden der ehemaligen Berliner Müllverwertungsgesellschaft.

Umfirmierung in OEMETA Chemische Werke GmbH

Oemeta bietet sowohl Bohröle als auch keramisch- und kunstharzgebundene Schleifwerkzeuge an. Mit dieser Produktkombination ermöglicht Oemeta ihren Kunden effiziente Produktionsprozesse in der sich damals schnell entwickelnden industriellen Massenproduktion.

In den USA wird 1915 der wassermischbare, emulgierbare Kühlschmierstoff (KSS) erfunden. Damals war für diese Produktgruppe der Begriff ‚Bohröl‘ üblich. Die Bezeichnung KSS wurde erst in den 70er Jahren eingeführt.

1921 - 1945

1921

Beginn der Bohröl-Fabrikation in Bötzow und der Produktion von Schleifkörpern in Liebsgen

1923

Der Betrieb von Schleifkörpern in Liebsgen wird stillgelegt, liquidiert und nach Bötzow verlegt.

1924-1944

Der Betrieb in Bötzow wird ständig an das wachsende Geschäft angepasst.

1945

Im Zuge der Kampfhandlungen werden die Verkaufs- und Verwaltungsbüros in Berlin, Uhlandstraße/ Ecke Kurfürstendamm restlos zerstört. Das Werk Bötzow wird beschlagnahmt und durch die Besatzungsmacht demontiert. Die Gesellschaftler werden entschädigungslos enteignet und fliehen nach Westdeutschland.

Die damals üblichen, aus heutiger Sicht einfachen Produkte, bestehend aus Mineral- und natürlichen Fettölen sowie Sulfonaten und Seifen für Emulgierwirkung und Korrosionsschutz, werden kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt.
Nicht zuletzt die Entwicklung der Luftfahrtindustrie stellt durch die dort verwendeten.

Leichtmetalle neue Anforderungen an die Leistungsfähigkeit der Produkte. Schmierleistungsadditive werden erstmals eingesetzt, um diese Anforderungen zu erfüllen. Um die Lebensdauer der wassergemischten Bohröle zu verlängern, kommen zunehmend Biozide wie z. B. Phenole zum Einsatz.

1946 - 1953

Gesellschafter (vlnr.) Dr. Schmitz-Lammers, A. Däbritz, E. Winkler

1946 - 1948

Neubeginn in dem Notquartier in Unterschlechtbach (Kreis Waiblingen) in gemieteten Räumen der Fa. Hahn & Kolb. Erweiterung des Gesellschafterstamms um Familie Winkler auf drei Gesellschaftler. Versuch, bei den einschlägigen Stellen eine Gewerbeerlaubnis zur Herstellung von Kühlschmierstoffen und Schleifkörpern zu bekommen. In Mannheim erhält man die Genehmigung zur Herstellung von Schleifkörpern und in Hamburg zur Produktion von Kühlschmierstoffen. Mangels eigener Maschinen und Einrichtungen vereinbart Oemeta mit den Ölwerken Julius Schindler GmbH Hamburg im Lohnverfahren Kühlschmierstoffe herzustellen. Sitz des Unternehmens ist nun in Mannheim.

1949

Auf der Suche nach geeigneten Produktionsstandorten in und um Hamburg wird man in Uetersen, Schleswig-Holstein, fündig. In gemieteten Räumen der Fa. Hermann Behrendt, Ossenpadd, Uetersen, startet die Fertigung von Kühlschmierstoffen. Fast gleichzeitig beginnt in der Hafenbahnstr. 30, Mannheim, die Produktion von Schleifkörpern.

1950

Gründung der Chemischen Fabrik Uetersen mit dem Zweck, die Immobilie von der Fa. Hermann Behrend zu kaufen.

1952

Bau neuer Produktionsanlagen für Schleifkörper auf dem gekauften Gelände in Uetersen. Einige Mitarbeiter, die bereits im Werk Bötzow tätig sind, ziehen zum Neubeginn nach Uetersen und bilden den Grundstock für das benötigte Personal zur Produktion von Schleifwerkzeugen.

1953

Verlegung des Firmensitzes von Mannheim nach Uetersen und damit einhergehend der Umzug der Schleif­werkzeugfertigung nach Uetersen

Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg befindet sich sowohl die metallbearbeitende als auch die chemische Industrie zunächst in einer Wiederaufbauphase mit stark beschränkter Rohstoffverfügbarkeit. Man versucht, die Rezepturen den Marktbedingungen anzupassen. Natürliche, oleochemische Rohstoffe, z. B. Tierfette bzw. deren Derivate spielen dabei eine große Rolle und werden auch heute noch in großem Umfang in Kühlschmierstoffen verwendet.

Die neue Schleifwerkzeugfabrik wird mit modernster Fertigungstechnologie ausgerüstet und ermöglicht die Herstellung von Schleifscheiben bis 800 mm Durchmesser.

1954 - 1970

1954

Umbau der alten Fertigungsanlagen für Kühlschmierstoffe unter Fortsetzung der laufenden Produktion, Abriss des alten Gebäudeteils von innen heraus.

1956

Das heutige Verwaltungsgebäude entsteht.

1956 - Jubiläumsausgabe der Belegschaft zum 40-jährigen Firmenjubiläum.

1958

Im Eingangsbereich des Verwaltungsgebäudes gestaltet der Maler und Bildhauer Johannes Ufer ein Relief, das verschiedene Materialien für Schleifkörper darstellt.

1960

Mitglied im Verband der Schmierstoff-industrie e. V. (VSI)

1961

Stiftung einer Glocke für die neu erbaute Erlöserkirche am Ossenpadd

1962

Bau einer Fasswaschhalle zur Reinigung und Wiederverwertung von Rollrandfässern. Erste bauliche und technische Erweiterungen der Schleifkörperproduktion.

1969 - 1970

Expansion des Betriebes durch Erweiterung der Laborkapazitäten (An- und Umbau)

Dieser Zeitabschnitt ist gekennzeichnet durch die Entwicklung zahlreicher neuer Kühl­schmierstoff­technologien, welche durch das Wiedererstarken der deutschen chemischen Industrie gestützt wird.

Die ersten synthetischen, mineralölfreien und halbsynthetischen Produkte („Frigidol, Frigilux“) sowie mit niedrigem Mineralölgehalt. („Oemeta Universal, Frigomet“) werden in den Markt gebracht und sind sehr viel stabiler in der Anwendung als die klassischen Bohröle.

Die gesamte Brenntechnik wird sukzessive erneuert. Haubenöfen mit Wärmerückgewinnung und Nachverbrennungsanlagen kommen zum Einsatz.

1975 - 1998

1975

Bau eines neuen Haubenofens (9m3) für die Produktion von Schleifwerkzeugen.

© Firma Hermes Schleifmittel

1978

Beitritt zur UNITI Bundesverband mittelständischer Mineralölunternehmen e. V.

1985

Ausscheiden der Gesellschafterfamilie Schmitz-Lammers durch den Verkauf der Firmenanteile an die Mitgesellschaftler

Uetersener Nachrichten - 17.12.1992

1992

Zum Ende des Jahres 1992 wird der Betriebsteil Schleifkörper an die Firma Hermes Schleifmittel GmbH & Co KG verkauft, mit dem Ziel, sich auf den Bereich Kühlschmierstoffe und die Internationalisierung zu konzentrieren. Mitarbeiterzahl sinkt von 144 auf 50. Exportquote liegt zu diesem Zeitpunkt unter 20%.

1994

Gründung Oemeta China, Wuhan, Hubei

1996

Erstmalige Zertifizierung nach DIN EN ISO 9001

1998

Gründung Oemeta UK, Banbury, Oxfordshire. Verkauf der Firmenanteile von der Gesellschafterfamilie Winkler an die Familie Vester, Nachkommen der Gründerfamilie Däbritz

In den 70er Jahren etablieren sich die borsäurebasierten KSS im Markt. Oemeta startet die UNIMET-Produktreihe als robustes Mengenprodukt.

Oemeta entwickelt Anfang der 80er den weltweit ersten wassermischbaren Kühlschmierstoff auf Esterölbasis. „ESTRAMET“ ermöglicht dem Anwender, Aluminium­legierungen deutlich effizienter als bisher zu bearbeiten. Das gilt auch für die KSS-Innovation der 90er Jahre. Oemeta bringt das revolutionäre „HYCUT“-Multifunktionsölsystem mit sehr großem Erfolg in den Markt.

Die Schleifscheibenfabrik wird mit hohem finanziellen Aufwand kontinuierlich modernisiert.

2000 - 2011

2000

Exportanteil liegt erstmalig über 50%

2001

Neubau Logistikhalle für die Lagerung von Fertigprodukten und Rohstoffen.

2003

Gründung Oemeta USA in Delaware, heutiger Firmensitz Salt Lake City, Utah Gründung Oemeta Kanada, Ingersoll, Ontario

2004

Neubau eines Verwaltungs-, Logistik- und Produktionsgebäudes in Wuhan. Gründung Oemeta Polen, Wroclaw (Breslau). Beginn der Modernisierung aller Labore (Service- und Forschung & Entwicklungs- sowie Betriebslabor)

2005

Erstmalige Umwelt­management-Zertifizierung nach DIN EN ISO 14001

2007

Als erstes Chemie-Unternehmen in Schleswig-Holstein führt Oemeta das Arbeits­schutzmanagement „Sicher mit System“ ein und wird dafür ausgezeichnet. Neubau des Außentanklagers. Einführung eines Prozessleitsystems in der Produktion.

2010

Gründung Oemeta Singapur.

2011

Gründung Oemeta Indien, Pune.

HYCUT etabliert sich als „das“ Produkt für die spanende Bearbeitung von Motorenbauteilen. Heute werden über 50% des Gesamtumsatzes der Oemeta-Gruppe mit HYCUT-Produkten erzielt. Die Chemikalien­gesetzgebung in Europa wird zunehmend restriktiver. Oemeta entwickelt daher die Palette an borfreien Produkten weiter. 2003 wird mit großem Erfolg das borfreie Breitenprodukt ALUMET AL 900 in den Markt gebracht, 5 Jahre später folgt die formaldehydfreie Weiterentwicklung NOVAMET 910.

2012 - 2016

2012

Modernisierung des Foyers unter Beibehaltung der alten Stilelemente und des Reliefs sowie der Sozialräume (Coole Pause)

Der Kühlschmierstoff, das flüssige, kühlende Werkzeug für die Industrie – betreut von Coolen Spezialisten (Employer Branding Broschüre)

2013

Gründung Oemeta CR, Brünn, Tschechien

2014

Start der Produktion in China, erster Produktionsstandort außerhalb von Deutschland. Erweiterung Tankkapazität durch neue Lagertanks.

2015

Kauf eines Grundstücks in den USA als zukünftiger Produktionsstandort.

2016

Heute ist Oemeta ein international aufgestelltes Unternehmen mit weltweit knapp 200 Mitarbeitern.

2012 tritt die EU-Biozidverordnung in Kraft, welche die Anwendung von Bioziden in wassermischbaren und wassergemischten Kühlschmierstoffen deutlich verkompliziert und verteuert. Als Antwort bringt Oemeta 2013 den ersten langzeit­stabilen bor- und biozidfreien KSS auf den Markt.

2015 entwickelt Oemeta eine Bearbeitungs­ölfamilie auf Basis der neuen synthetischen GTL (Gas-To-Liquid)-Technologie. Technologieführer und Prozess­optimierer beim Kunden zu sein, dafür steht die Marke Oemeta seit 100 Jahren und das bleibt ihr Credo auch in Zukunft.